Canada Division Celebrates 2022 Award Recipients

The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada celebrated its 2022 award winners on June 13, 2022, in conjunction with the CGIC AGM.

Dr. Logan Atkinson, B.A., LL.B., M.Phil., M.A., LL.D., CMP, FCG, Acc.Dir. received the Distinguished Professional Service Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Governance profession.

Logan is an exceptional motivational leader and mentor. He has made significant and notable contributions to the profession and the community, whether in Ottawa, Waterloo, Toronto, or his current home in Sackville NB. He has served CGIC in many capacities over the years – on the National Board and various national committees, on the Ontario Branch Council, on the Editorial Board of the Corporate Governance Quarterly, as a Chief Examiner, as an Instructor, and as an Author. He believes strongly in the principles of servant leadership and is a thoughtful and caring practitioner in that respect. Thank you, Logan, for your service to CGIC over the years.

Joseph Leo Gilles LeVasseur, FCG, P.Adm. received the Distinguished Professional Service Award in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the Governance profession.

Gilles previously served CGIC as Chair of the Ontario Branch and on the National Board.  During that time, he was a mentor and coach for candidates for exam preparation, guiding students on how to study for success. He also drafted the Canadian edition of commercial law and governance exams and then corrected them. One of his most valuable contributions has been his motivation to promote the Chartered designation to students at the university level in Canada. Thank you, Gilles, for your work with students over the years to improve their success and the success of the Institute.

Dan Shepherdson, FCG, P.Adm., Acc.Dir. received the Outstanding Branch Member Award in recognition of his contributions within the Ontario Branch which have been significant and noteworthy.

Dan has made significant contributions and achieved countless milestones for the Ontario Branch, including single-handedly creating an accounting system, migrating the Branch’s books and records, and synchronizing decades of corporate records, all while managing annual audits and other corporate alignment tasks. Dan is known for his stewardship, showing qualities of empathy, inclusion, and accommodation among other members and peers, with a consistent membership tenure. Thank you, Dan, for performing so many multi-level achievements for the Branch and National.

Humphry Koch, ACG was presented with a 50-year longevity award recognizing 50 years of Chartered membership.  

Additionally, 13 individuals were presented with a 25-year longevity award recognizing 25 years of Chartered membership.  Recipients include:

Douglas Crichlow, ACG 

Elaine Wright, ACG 

Fook Tin Alfred Au Yeung, FCG 

Gaspar Gill, FCG 

John Chiu, FCG 

Krishna Ramrattan, FCG 

Richard Lewis, FCG 

Sandra Giffin, FCG 

Sandra Lobo, ACG 

Shelley Kwong, ACG 

Sophia Chan, ACG 

Terrence Howell, ACG 

Trisha Tannis, FCG 

CGIC extends our congratulations to all of our 2022 award recipients!