Congratulations Graduates!

On January 12, 2021, the governance profession gained five new Leaders in the practice of good governance. Please join CGIC in congratulating the following Graduates of the qualifying program on their outstanding achievement: Abner Yong, GradCG (BC)Rachel Simms-Sealy, GradCG (ON)Shraddha Taksande, GradCG (AB)Mylene Lapierre, GradCG (NB)Rashmi Khandelwal, FCG (India)  Learn more about our International Qualifying Program

It’s Time to Renew Your 2021 CGIC Membership

2020 was an eventful year for the Canadian Division of The Chartered Governance Institute, a worldwide qualifying body for Governance Professionals. We, like so many of you, had to adjust our operations overnight in response to the COVID-19 pandemic.  CGIC moved our two certification programs – the International Qualifying Program and Directors’ Education and Accreditation Program – online this year and also launched virtual continuing professional development and … Read More

Online DEAP Session Scheduled for February 16-18, 2021

The Directors’ Education and Accreditation Program (DEAP) welcomes experienced and newly appointed directors with management or professional experience. Participants are drawn from a mix of backgrounds including public, crown, and not-for-profit corporations. Work before the session – DEAP delivers critical content in a condensed period of time. When you register for DEAP, you will receive access to the study guides to … Read More

Canadian Institute’s Crown Corporate Governance Conference

The Canadian Institute’s 16th Annual Conference on Crown Corporate Governance Virtual Conference returns on January 19 – 20, 2021, in a completely interactive virtual format to help you navigate the complex governance environment, respond to the evolving risk landscape, and stay on top of what is on the horizon for 2021 and beyond. Canadian Institute’s 16th Annual Conference on Crown Corporate … Read More

Call for Subject Matter Experts – 2021

The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada (CGIC) is looking for individuals interested in supporting the delivery of the International Qualifying Program (IQP) as well as speakers for the Directors’ Education & Accreditation Program (DEAP).  Honorariums are provided to these individuals. The CGIC is also looking for individuals to sit on two of its Education, Training and Candidate Success Committee’s subcommittees. … Read More

CGIC-QC to Host Complimentary CPD Session on December 16

The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada, Quebec Branch will be hosting a complimentary CPD session in December. All CGIC members are invited to attend. DATE: Wednesday, December 16, 2020 | 60-minute Zoom webinar TIME: BC: 9 am PT; AB: 10 am MT; ON/QC 12 pm ET; Bermuda 1 pm AT Virtual Board & Committee Meetings: From Ad Hoc to Strategic … Read More

The Chartered Governance Institute Notice of 2020 Annual General Meeting

DATE: Monday, December 14, 2020 | virtual event via Lumi Global TIME: BC: 12 am PST • AB: 1 am MST • ON/QC: 3 am EST • Bermuda: 4 am AST The 2020 Annual General Meeting (AGM) of The Chartered Governance Institute (The Institute) will be held virtually at 08:00 hrs GMT (18:00 AEST) on Monday, 14 December 2020. The … Read More

CGIC 100th Anniversary Celebration

CGIC hosted their 100th Birthday Celebration on November 30, 2020 via Zoom Teleconference. The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada turns 100 in 2020! In 1920, about half a dozen Chartered Secretaries, who had graduated in the UK, got together in Montreal and formed a “group”. At that point in time, the Institute had a By-Law 10 which permitted distinguished professionals … Read More

Online DEAP Session Scheduled for December 1-3, 2020

The Directors’ Education and Accreditation Program (DEAP) welcomes experienced and newly appointed directors with management or professional experience. Participants are drawn from a mix of backgrounds including public, crown, and not-for-profit corporations. Work before the session – DEAP delivers critical content in a condensed period of time. When you register for DEAP, you will receive access to the study guides to … Read More

Governance Institute of Australia’s National Conference – December 7-8

A Universe of Ideas: Leadership, Trust, and Foresight in the Spotlight at Governance Institute of Australia’s National Conference. The global leaders in governance and risk management will take center stage at the Governance Institute of Australia’s National Conference in December, launched for the first time in its 37-year history as a purely virtual event. With 18 sessions and more than 45 … Read More