Canada Division Celebrates 2021 Award Recipients

The Chartered Governance Institute of Canada celebrated its 2021 award winners on June 2, 2021, in conjunction with the CGIC AGM.

John Dinner, FCG received the Meritorious Service Award in recognition of his exemplary service to The Institute in Canada and Internationally.  In recent years, John has been a strong contributor to the CGI International thought-leadership committee. 

John recently provided his invaluable insights as a board member and an advisor to the board of directors across sectors in a summary of the key topics that are explored in ‘Enhancing Individual Director Accountability’ that was published in April 2020. He also contributed to CGI’s recent publication ‘Women in the boardroom: International Governance Stocktake 2021’.

Janet Shulist, ACG, Acc.Dir. received the Outstanding Branch Member Award in recognition of a member whose contributions within their Branch are significant and noteworthy. Janet has been an active member of the Quebec Branch and the Quebec Branch Council. 

Janet has been active in initiatives to bring in new members, bringing a customized DEAP session to her workplace, and helping with the Branch’s Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program.

Barbara McPhail, FCG was presented with a 50-year longevity award recognizing 50-years of Chartered membership.

Additionally, 16 individuals were presented with a 25-year longevity award recognizing 25-years of Chartered membership.  Recipients include:

Tamar Dyall, ACG

Donna Harris-Thornhill, FCG

Althea Hazzard, FCG

Glyne Hewitt, ACG

Luther Jones, ACG

Sandra Kirkwood-Pearce, ACG

Lystra Kodilinye, FCG

Sithy Mahendrarajah, ACG

Yonette Murray-Brewster, FCG

Piyushkant Parikh, FCG, P.Adm.

Matthew T Sargusingh, ACG, P. Adm.

Clyde Sobers, FCG

Craig Swan, FCG

Colin Walcott, ACG

James Widdecombe, FCG, P. Adm.

CGIC extends our congratulations to all of our 2021 award recipients!